Portfolio Artefact Number 5 – TrackStar Creative Commons Social Bookmarking Page

Artefact

Trackstar Creative Commons Social Bookmarking Tool

Topic

Creative Student Centred Use of Learning Technologies

Domain

Professional Practice

Standard

4- Create and Maintain Supportive and Safe Learning Environments

Focus Area

4.3 – Use ICT Safely, Responsibly and Ethically

To view the TrackStar page I created click here.

Rationale:

The artefact chosen focuses on the creative student centred use of learning technologies. It is a pertinent example of how I informed my students about safe, responsible and ethical behaviour online. It is important to me as it was a defining moment in my practicum, as I realised I was developing my understanding of not only the academic needs of my students but also the moral codes students require to be able to function in a 21st Century society. This artefact demonstrates my ability to develop strategies “to support the safe, responsible and ethical use of ICT in learning and teaching” (Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership, 2012, p.7).

Context:

My co-operating teacher was concerned about students unethical use of information, as they were not using creative commons licensed images or audio when creating their Animoto videos. I needed to think of a way to educate my students on safe, responsible and ethical behaviour online. Students were also becoming distracted while researching online, and visiting sites that were not relevant to the class activities.  In order to solve the issue I utilised the program TrackStar to create a creative commons social bookmarking tool.

Analysis / Reflection / Research:

One of the most alarming issues we face as teachers in regards to technology use by our students is the safe, ethical and responsible use of the internet. Ribble (2013) developed a framework called “respect, educate and protect” which consists of nine proposed themes that should be taught in schools. Ribble (2013) states,

before people use technology they do not learn digital etiquette. Many people feel uncomfortable talking to others about their digital etiquette…Often rules and regulations are created or the technology is simply banned to stop inappropriate use. It is not enough to create rules and policy, we must teach everyone to become responsible digital citizens in this new society.

This quote stresses the importance of teaching students about the ethical and safe use of information.  Gearhart (2009, p. 72) states that students must “understand that inappropriate and criminal behaviours when using technology will have a profound effect on their future,” further arguing that we need to teach our students about how to be respectable digital citizens, stating “we will not survive the 21st century with the ethics of the 20th century” (Gearhart, 2009, p. 79).

During my practicum my students were undertaking unethical and illegal behaviour online and I was unaware of this at the time. By creating the TrackStar creative commons tool for my students I was able to guide students by providing them with a variety of sites that I knew were viable sources of information. Students were also required to post to Edmodo a summary of their learning and what sites they obtained their information from. This ensured that they would complete the task at hand and not get distracted by inappropriate sites.  My co-operating teacher commented on the effectiveness of the lesson and stated that I am now thinking about the social and moral futures of my students not just their academic achievement. This demonstrates a significant development as a practicing teacher to be able to assist students with their overall wellbeing and development.

Conclusion:

I have learnt of the importance and have developed ways to educate students on ethical and safe practice online. I initially assumed that all my students would be aware of the rules and regulations of researching and citing others work on their own, however as I discovered, and as research suggests students need to be explicitly taught.

Leave a comment

Filed under Portfolio Artefacts

Leave a Reply

